Return to the Stained Glass & Mosaics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie here with ?

Posted by soinspired (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 8, 09 at 9:19

I'm just a beginner at mosaic and have a quick question on doing a mosaic on a wood table. This wood table in an old pine round table with no paint. Should I prime the table first with just a basic primer before I start my project? Or, should I use something else? I have learned so much here and so appreciate your posts. Thanks for your comments.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie here with ?

Not necessary to prime. Welcome to the forum. Show us pictures, please, of your WIP.

o

Welcome. Just start gluing. And yeah, we have have need to see!!! Love seeing everyones before and after pics......

o

Welcome. Listen to the pro's. I do. They are correct. Pix Pix Pix please

o

Thanks for your follow-ups! So many ideas but I know I want to do it in purples & pinks. I'll post pics when I get started. Wish me luck!

o

LUCK LUCK LUCK!!!

o

Is your table going to be used inside or outside? That makes a difference as to whether or not you need to put down something like backerboard... if outside use backerboard.

o

I always prime porous substrates with water-based Kilz or Binz (don't use oil based or "water sealers") and sometimes use a 5 parts water to 1 part Weldbond mixture. I score the surface first and then prime. The reason for this being the porous wood will suck the moisture out of your thinset (if using) or grout - causing it to cure more quickly. If you don't want to prime first, I would suggest (after grouting) putting plastic wrap over your mosaic and misting it with water every few hours to slow down the cure time.

Hope this helps!
Jane

o