Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamalinda_gw

How to make an oval mirrow frame?

mamalinda
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

First off, I'm completely new to this and I've never done mosaic...

But I've I got it in my head that I'd like to make a frame for our bathroom mirror with some leftover tile we have after tiling the front of our bathtub.

Our mirror, however, is oval - about 3' at the tallest and 2' at the widest.

Does anyone have any ideas of how I could make an oval frame to mosaic my tile pieces onto?

Any and all ideas, tips, suggestions, etc. would be very appreciated.

Thanks, Linda

Comments (8)

• texaswild
    15 years ago

First, I'd Google images for "mosaiced mirrors". You'll find lots of ideas. Also, visit some of the mosaic artists' websites and search for mirrors. If I were making your project, I'd take the mirror from the existing frame, put it on a piece of 3/4" MDF, and trace around it. I'd add to that line toward the center of the oval, about 1/2" and cut it out w/a jigsaw. Drill a hold somewhere inside that oval for the starter hold for the blade. I'd then sketch out either a whimsical or just a regular oval around that first drawing - about three/four inches, or whatever size I wanted. Cut that out, and mosaic away. Put the mirror on the back of the frame and attach w/silicon all around, and w/mirror hardware attachments one can find at glass companies. Then on the front, I'd probably use either BBs, small tiles or some decorative beads to go around the edge of the mirror. Viola. Hope this helps.

• daisyme
    15 years ago