Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurastheme

First mosaic - HELP!

laurastheme
15 years ago

I purchased a birdhouse at a TS and mosaiced the front with broken glass tumbled in my rock polisher to smooth the edges. How do you apply the grout? I tried applying it with my fingers, but it just looked globbed on. The pieces of glass are varying thicknesses so that made it harder to even out the grout. Also some of the pieces have a bumpy surface. The grout got into the crevices of the bumps and I couldn't get it out. This is my first try so I know NOTHING!

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (8)

• texaswild
    15 years ago

Well it's just darlin'. Good job. When I can't get the grout out of crevices, I use a toothbrush while it is soft. After it hardens a bit, it might need a little wire brush or any tool that can dig it out. I use my gloved fingers to apply grout, then take a dry sponge to smoosh it into the crevices. NOTHING I do is of the same texture, therefore there's all different heights, bumps, whatever. Good for you for diving in for the first time. Keep it up - practice, practice, practice. Doubt I have to tell you that, cuz most first timers are hooked immediately, as was I.

• Calamity_J
    15 years ago

Did you use unsanded grout? It is waaayyy yukkier(is that a real word?) than sanded grout. And it just takes practice to get the grouting and glueing just right. You want just enough glue to hold the pc and not have grout come under the pc, yet not too much glue that you don't have room for grout. We call it "bleeding" behind the tesserae.I only use sanded grout as it is sooo much nicer to work with. Way to jump in and git-er done!!! So What's your next project gonna be???

• laurastheme
    Original Author
    15 years ago