Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsdutchy

wet saw ?s for cutting china cups etc

mrsdutchy
14 years ago

Hiya, I'm new to this forum, I've been on the garden junk for a little while and have just found this one. I've been doing mosaics for a few years now and my hubby has done a few leadlights and plans on getting back into it as soon as we buy a glass grinder.

Anyway I just bought a 7" wet tile saw to cut cups, plates, ornaments etc in half for my mosaics. I gave the depth of the saw no thought when I bought it but realised when I went to cut my first cup that the blade only goes about half way through. I put the cup upside down to run it through but only cuts half way up as the blade is low. I then read on the instructions that the tile (it's a tile saw obviously so only mentions about cutting tiles) should not be any thicker than 35mm. Has anyone got any advice as to how to cut a cup in half with it? I so hope I haven't made a mistake in buying it. If I haven't bought the right thing, what should I have bought?

Cheers

Tracey

Here is a link that might be useful: my mosaics and other handmade goodies etc

Comments (6)

• mrsdutchy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for that. I can't actually take it back as it's been screwed to my bench and used but it has the blade on the bottom anyway. SO did you take the safety cover off and use it that way? Do you have problems with bits flying off at you? (I do use safety glasses but what about the rest of the face?) And lastly can you only cut yours half way up too? Do you then turn it up the other way and run it through again? Is that the only way to do it?