Return to the Special Diet Recipes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
LOOKING for: Sugarfree & Heart Healthy recipes

Posted by Wendy77 (tilor@aol.com) on
Mon, Jan 24, 05 at 18:00

Can anyone help suggesting a good recipe book on the following?? I am new to needing these recipes as I just had a heart attack & now they say I have sugar too, all at the ripe old age of 48! Time foe life style change big time! TIA Wendy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: LOOKING for: Sugarfree & Heart Healthy recipes

I hope you're feeling better!

I don't know if this book is still available, but "Live Longer and Better" is a good resource for not only recipes but also for making good lifestyle choices. It was put out by the editors of Consumer Guide. My copy is 1994, I don't know if it's been updated, but if not check used book resources- it should be cheap.

The South Beach diet is good for you too, as long as you stick to mostly fish and veggie meals. Too much cholesterol from meats, even lean meats, will not help your heart. I also have "Protein Power" by Eades and Eades which has many good recipes. It also has information about how your diet affects your health.

The only other thing I would suggest is to ask your doctor about an exercise program if you don't already exercise regularly.

Happy healing!

o

I was also going to suggest the South Beach Diet. My husband has lost 40 pounds since his heart attack 4 months ago. He was also prediabetic. Ignore the stupid outdated nutritional advice provided by the Heart Association. I really feel bad for the poor people in his cardiac rehab classes trying to live on their recommended low fat diets. I found the Suzanne Somers diet books had fantastic recipes. I finally ended up checking out all her books from the library and copying the best recipes.

I also got some recipes from www.foodtv.com and doing a search for low carb. Good luck!!

o