SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
soap2go

Solid Lotion Recipe

soap2go
20 years ago

Hello All, I am a newbie here.

I recently made some solid lotion bars, the recipe I used made an incredibly hard bar but I adapted it and it's now become the best seller at a local farmers market that I attend. I wondered if anyone knows of any other similar recipes?

I used:

equal weight measures of:

sweet almond oil

coconut oil

cocoa butter

beeswax

then added Jasmine essential oil (absolute but blended 6% in Jojoba oil)

I didn't do the stages, just shoved it all in a bowl, added the jasmine after it had all melted together & poured it into the soap moulds.

I have been suggesting people keep one by their sink so that when they have washed their hands & dried them, they rub a little on rather than a hand lotion. It is truly amazing stuff and lasts ages... best of all... it's so easy that even a muppet like me can make it!

Comments (92)

• marthaclaudette
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Can someone please tell me the difference between refined and unrefined shea butter? There seems to be quite a price difference and I don't want to invest a lot in the wrong thing. Thanks!

• Terri_PacNW
    16 years ago

Marthaclaudette, the simple fact is unrefined has much more "skin" healing value. But my favorite butters are Mowrah and Aloe in place of Shea and Cocoa Butter.

Arkansas Girl, I'll try and remember to a picture and post it.

Roxy, yes the fo or eo, goes into the "mix" after oils, butters and wax are melted together.

• pam_tlcnaturally_com
    16 years ago