Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Solid Lotion Recipe

Posted by soap2go (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 12, 03 at 8:51

Hello All, I am a newbie here.

I recently made some solid lotion bars, the recipe I used made an incredibly hard bar but I adapted it and it's now become the best seller at a local farmers market that I attend. I wondered if anyone knows of any other similar recipes?

I used:
equal weight measures of:
sweet almond oil
coconut oil
cocoa butter
beeswax

then added Jasmine essential oil (absolute but blended 6% in Jojoba oil)

I didn't do the stages, just shoved it all in a bowl, added the jasmine after it had all melted together & poured it into the soap moulds.

I have been suggesting people keep one by their sink so that when they have washed their hands & dried them, they rub a little on rather than a hand lotion. It is truly amazing stuff and lasts ages... best of all... it's so easy that even a muppet like me can make it!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Solid Lotion Recipe

Hi,
My lotion bars a huge seller as well, people where I live cannot get enough of them. Yeah!!!!!

My recipe:

This makes 6 1 oz bars

1oz Sweet Almond Oil
1oz Beeswax
1/2 oz Shea Butter
1/2 oz Cocoa Butter
A pinch of Jojoba Sheres (for color if you want to add color, this is optional)
Melt down, cool for a few then add what ever fragrance you desire)

These bars are yummy, just the right consistency, not to greasy, not to hard. My most recent hot seller was Pumpkin Spice.

Good Luck!!!!!!!!

Elle

o

Correction, the above recipe makes 3 bars I double, triple etc for more bars

o

Do you guys just make bars out of them? I've put them in the deodorant looking containers before but don't sell well that way. Thought that would be better for travel bars but they tend to melt when they get left in a hot place.
mary

o