Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
goat's milk melt & pour soap base from scratch

Posted by poupstar (My Page) on
Fri, Dec 1, 06 at 5:10

Hi
I am new to making soap. Can someone please provide me with an easy GOAT'S MILK MELT & POUR soap base recipe from scratch? I want to make myself a large batch for making many different kinds of MELT & POUR soap. Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: goat's milk melt & pour soap base from scratch

Here's the same link I posted on the Glycerin recipe thread.
It looks like it's not easy to make your own.

Probably even much more costly then buying 2-5lbs from a reputable online supplier.

All the work except scenting, coloring and adding a bit of other goodies is done for you when buying a M&P base.

Some reputable suppliers are Brambleberry.com, greatcandle.com and snowtopcandlesupplies.com.

I've done business with all three, not soap, but their fragrance oils, and a few other supplies.

Here is a link that might be useful: Soap making methods

o

Hi Terri,
is making M&P soap base the same process as making cold process soap without adding any color & fragrance?? Am I understand it correctly?

o

Here's the M&P information from the link above.

Melt and Pour Soap:
Technically, all hand made soap is "Glycerin Soap." In many commercial soaps, all the extra glycerin (formed naturally by the cold process soapmaking method) is harvested out. Thus, all handmade soap is glycerin rich (since hand made soapmakers dont harvest out glycerin in their soap).

In todays market, the term "Glycerin Soap" is commonly used to refer to clear soap. Generally, the clear soap has extra glycerin added to it to produce a very nourishing, moisturizing bar. Glycerin is a "humectant." It draws moisture to itself; the theory is that if you wash with glycerin soap, a thin layer of glycerin will remain, drawing moisture to your skin.