Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Candle Makers??????

Posted by Trish_or (My Page) on
Wed, Oct 27, 04 at 14:12

Hi.. This is my first time posting at this site. I have been making candles for my own personal use and have a couple of questions. I hope some of you will be able to help me out.

1) What is the "correct" amount of FO to put into melted wax to give you quality scent?? Think Yankee or PartyLite.

2) How do you store your candles once they are done? Do you wrap them in something to prolong the scent until you burn them?

3) Do you use liquid color or do you use dye chips?

I love to make and burn my homemade candles, but there is just something to be said about a factory producted candle.. I want mine to be like that!! :-)

Thanks in advance for your input!

Trish

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Candle Makers??????

I make and sell candles, but I make container candles. I have tried many, many different types of wax but the one I like best and am most impressed with is J223 by Astorlite. As far as fragrance amount, that depends on the brand of wax you are using. J223 recommends 1 to 1 1/2 ounce per pound. I have never used over 1 ounce because the J223 has an excellent cold and hot scent throw. I do cover my candles (or put the lid on the jar) mostly to keep them clean. I cannot see that having one uncovered has ever made any difference in my candles. I use dye chips; I have never had much sucess with liquid color in either soap or candles. Most of my candles have just as good of a scent as a Yankee candle or some other nice candle. However, I use the best wax and the best fragrance oils in them; fragrance oil quality makes a huge difference in the finished fragrance of a candle. I hope I have been of help.
Susan

o