Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
new to cold process

Posted by isabellas_blends (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 1, 10 at 18:44

hey everyone! quick question, im new to cp soapmaking, ive done hot process plenty...here's my question: how do i know how much fragrance oil or EO to add? my mold is for 3 pounds. for my HP soaps id use 1oz, but i realize it will now change. any held or websites would be appreciated! thank you!~

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: new to cold process

It really depends on which scent you are using. EO/Fos? Citrus/Spice/Floral?

Let us know which ones you are considering, and I'll give you some ball-park suggestions.

Only an ounce for 3 pounds of soapis a small amount, me thinks.

o

The 1oz was for the HP, it seemed to work pretty good for FO's...i just recieved my new mold in the mail so i will be trying some CP today...we'll see how this goes...i think i may try (1oz) Lavender FO, (1oz) Vanilla FO, and (20 drops or so) Lavender EO..??? for a 3lb batch...??? plus (4oz) lavender essential water, and the rest of the "water" portion will be cream/milk... im going to try it...please let me know if you think it will be alright or not. Thank you so much! :)

o

So i just made to soap...i did half lav ess water, and half milk...took awhile to trace...is that normal w/ milk/cream? anyways...i ended up doing 1oz vanilla FO, 1oz Lavender FO, and 50 drops Lavender EO...i also added in 1 tbps vanilla powder, and 2 tbsp lavender flowers...i hope it turns out...i guess well find out in 6 weeks or so lol...let me know if im wayyy off on my fragrance amounts. thanks! :)

o