Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Does Lye Have To Be In All Soap?

Posted by ladyofsuccess (My Page) on
Sat, May 5, 07 at 20:20

Okay, I am very new to soap making and as I have been reading various recipes, I see most of them call for lye. Is that a staple ingredient in all soaps? I thought lye was extremely harsh to the skin but am I wrong?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Does Lye Have To Be In All Soap?

Hi again!

Lye has to be in all soap, period.

Read as much as you can before purchasing ingredients or materials. A mentor would be advantageous, or check out someone making soap, read as many forums as you can. There are many different soap out there and methods of doing so. You will discover that there are 2 different kinds of lye; sodium and potassium hydroxides; the former is for CP and the latter for liquid soap.
My first introduction was sitting in on a 2 hour class and the rest I have learned on-line from forums and websites.
Lots of reading,

and lots of luck, it is fun!

o

Good luck finding Lye (aka Red Devil), in my state they stopped selling it because people were using it to make drugs. But you can still get liquid lye, go figure.

o

Hello,

Preface: I have not had to use a store bought lye liquid solution.

Having said that, everyone who makes CP soap uses a solution. I do make a lye solution of 2 parts water to 1 part lye crystals.
This would work out to be about 30% solution (or close enough to 30, its 33 1/3%, I would guess).

The math might be a little screwy, but if thats all that is available to you, I dont see a problem with it, providing it is a pure lye solution.

hth

o

Yes and no, it's the way your question is worded.
Lye is not in the end product.