Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to soap making...many questions!!!

Posted by rainbowbrite (My Page) on
Mon, May 1, 06 at 12:56

Hello! I am just starting out with MP, and have a TON of questions. Please excuse my ignorance, any input is greatly appreciated!!

1. Can you use metal bowls/ molds for MP? I read that fresh soap shouldn't contact metal, but suspect this is for making soap from scratch due to the lye.

2. How can you be sure that so-called natural bases do not contain added chemicals? (I was planning on buying 'Life of the Party' avocado cucumber base from Michael's, but no ingredients are listed).

3.How many times can you remelt the base (I have a feeling I might mess up a few before I get it right LOL)

4.What is the difference between glycerin and regular soap, and is there a 'natural' transparent soap?

5. What is the difference between soap and detergent- is one petroleum based?

Thanks a bunch :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to soap making...many questions!!!

This might have some answers for you.

Here is a link that might be useful: M&P FAQ's

o

most mp is not natural. i dare someone to find some that is 100% natural. i doubt there would be many if any at all. if it doesn't have the ingredients listed i would steer clear of that brand. you may need to visit their website to see the list though. there are some really nice bases out there though and i want to say bramble berry had a natural base (or at least a %age), but i could be wrong.

o

I'm pretty new to soapmaking myself. I've done M&P and rebatching, but no CP. As far as a natural M&P base, I just found this site http://www.wisterialane.com/index.asp?PageAction=COMPANY and she says her M&P soap bases are all natural, except the clear. I'm going to give her a try!

Here is a link that might be useful: wisteria lane

o