Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RE: Advice - Using Glycerin instead of lye?

Posted by tina_2 (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 21, 06 at 13:02

Hi all . Does anyone know - if I can use glycerin instead of lye for this recipe? I would really, like to make a big batch of this! I am relatively new to soapmaking.
I prefer, glycerin soap recipes.

Olive 35%
Palm 35%
Coconut 20%
Shea Butter 10%
A nearly 2 pound batch with a 5% super fat and full water would be:
palm 7 oz
coconut 4 oz
olive oil 7 oz
shea 2 oz
fo/eo 1.2 oz
lye 2.79oz
water 6.85oz

This makes a really nice hard bar that lathers well!

Can anyone tell me? Please email me.
Thank you, all. Tina_2

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: RE: Advice - Using Glycerin instead of lye?

No, I don't think so.
You either make Cold Process soaps with lye, fats and oils. Or you make Melt and Pour soaps with Glycerin bases.

You can add some extra fats and oils to M&P soaps though.

Melt and Pour

Here is a link that might be useful: Soap Ingredients

o
RE: This is the reason for my question.....

Hi - Thanks for responding - below is the reason for my question. Tell me, what you think? Thanks -Tina_2

Coconut & Olive Soap
This recipe has been revised by Christin Ocasio, Owner, Wyndham Soapworks. See her notes in sidebar.

1 cup olive oil
1 cup coconut oil
1 cup melted tallow (animal fat)
2 tbsp lye (heaping) (*NOTE)
1/2 cup cold soft water
has been changed to:

8 oz weight olive oil
8 oz weight coconut oil
8 oz weight rendered tallow
3.49 oz weight sodium hydroxide (pure lye) Red Devil brand 100% lye (*NOTE)scroll to bottom.
9 fluid oz water
While wearing safety goggles and neoprene gloves, combine solid lye and liquid, stir well. Set aside and allow to cool (100 F to 125 F). This is best done outside while you are standing upwind.
Combine oils and heat gently. Once the fats and oils are melted allow the temperature to drop to 100 F to 125 F.