Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cost of Making Base from Scratch vs. Melt & Pour

Posted by sameboat (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 26, 11 at 11:28

I am new to soap-making and have only used the melt and pour purchased from a craft store. Is there much difference in quality between the product purchased for melt and pour crafts vs. a home-made CP recipe? There are many different options for the purchased melt and pour (olive oil, transparent glycerin, avocado, etc.). Is the home-made CP worth the time and money for all of the ingredients if I plan to sell it? Can I add things like oatmeal to my purchased melt and pour? I really enjoy the immediate gratification of the MP soap base...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cost of Making Base from Scratch vs. Melt & Pour

I have no experience with CP soap, but plenty with MP. So I can tell you that you can add oatmeal to MP, because I have done it. The important thing is to let it get fairly cool and thick, before adding the oatmeal. Stir it a lot and only pour it when it has gotten so cool that you absolutely have to. Otherwise,all the oatmeal will sink to the bottom.

o

Thank you sara_s. Do you use the "cooks in one minute" Quaker oats? Or something different? Doesn't it go bad in the soap?

o

Yes I do. I chop it up a bit, in the food processor first, to get smaller pieces. I haven't had a spoilage problem.

o

Thank you! I will be trying this soon.

o

The most exspensive part of any kind of soap making is the cost of scent. How much depends on the kind of scent; IE, EO/Fo citrus or spice.

For CP soap, you need to grind the oatmeal really fine, or it'll be too scratchy, and add it at a good/thick trace.

And, yes you can add too much oatmeal.

You may add lots of special ingredients, just read carefully about each (especially in CP soap making), namely, milk and honey readily come to mind.

o