Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best Soapmaking book recommendations

Posted by Judy_Z6OK (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 4, 04 at 11:01

I've been lurking for a couple of days and have already picked up much valuable information thanks to you all. Any recommendations for a 1st book on soapmaking? I'm new to this and would love a good read on the subject.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Judy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best Soapmaking book recommendations

When I started I went to the Library and took out about 10 books and scrolled through them to get basic ideas and recipe ideas.

You will get the hang of it very quick.

Sorry that I cannot give a specific book

Elle

o

Elle, thank your for your reply. I will check out the library, but I was hoping to weed out any books that were not worthwhile reading. If anyone has a preference I would appreciate hearing from you.

Thanks again, Judy

o

By "soapmaking," Judy, do you mean you want to mix fats and lye and actually make soap, or do you want to use Melt and Pour blocks? Usually the books are aimed at one method or the other, seldom do they cover both types of soapmaking. Let us know what type you are looking for and I bet you'll get some good suggestions.

o

Thank you Red Confetti, I'm already receiving an education. Actually I'm interested in reading about both methods to see what they are all about and if I need to get two books in order to cover both methods I would be glad to do that. Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

Judy

o

Well, I hate to see you just sitting there, waiting for book suggestions, Judy! I hope by now you have checked your local library (Dewey classification 668.12 and 668.124 are good places to start). There are hundreds of soapmaking books, of varying quality and of course everyone has their favorites.