Return to the Soap & Candle Making Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Glycerin Soaps without using store bought base

Posted by judith_2008 (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 13, 08 at 6:13

HI

I am relatively new to soap making and am having difficulty in finding a recipe for making the glycerin soap base - all books or recipes I have found are either using lard and tallow or a store bought glycerin base. Is anybody able to assist me with this?

Many Thanks in advance.

Judi

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Glycerin Soaps without using store bought base

Judi, I am pretty sure that the only way to make Glycerin soap is with a base product you purchase that is already been made or make you're own lye soap and get the by product off of it..which is glycerin.

Here is a link that might be useful: Glycerin

o

Hi Judith,

Most, if not all, people will buy the glycerin because they don't want to mess with the lye and make their own soap, nor do they want to make their own lye soap and remove the glycerin from it; then the lye soap would not have glycerin in it rendering the soap less effective nor wanted.
They lye soap will have about 7% glycerin in it, if memory serves.
These 2 ways of making soap are looked at 2 different ways; the lye soap more crafty, made from scratch, and the glycerin soap more artsey, just add decoration and stir.

Either one is rewarding, although I have never made the glycerin soap.

o

Do you mean the clear soap with glycerin aded? You can make that from just about any plain soap, MP or CP. You melt it down, add glycerin and boil it in alcohol.
Here are the directions and recipe:

http://www.millersoap.com/glycerinsoap.html

o