Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasonmi7

Small house 'style'

jasonmi7
16 years ago

Here's another question I thought of today.

What is your preferred 'style' of home? I was thinking this when looking at a lot of the modernistic pics in Dwell magazine. I currently have a timber-frame Cape Cod; a very traditional style, but would give your left arm for a very, very modern style home (which is what I'm currently working on; but that's another story).

Comments (22)

• ilmbg
    16 years ago

I LOVE Dwell magazine!! I can't find it in my town, though. I have to get one when I go to a bigger town 100 miles away!! This is just my own thinking, but I think a smaller home looks nicer if it is modern, because modern has cleaner, more simplified lines. It does not look so 'cluttered'. I have been doing plans for the past 3 months for a 900ft2 (about) house- modern, but not ultra modern. I have been looking at alot of cabinets/furniture/storage- I think you can get more storage with modern/cleaner/straighter lines. I so want a 'Hatbox' toilet!!! And a more modern, European fridge- taller and thinner.

• teresa_nc7
    16 years ago

"Cottage" style appeals to me. I just love the look of a trim, small cottage and they say "cozy" also. English thatched roof cottages or the honey-colored stone of the Cotswold cottages are very quaint and charming. The timeless appeal of a small bungalow or a stone cottage either old or newly built is for me.

But then, I also enjoy learning about the "Not So Big House" movement and I even like to watch "Small Space, Big Style" on HGTV and the ways owners of tiny city apartments make their space livable. I recall an interesting program on small Swedish homes that I saw some time ago. Guess I'm just a small house person.

• jasonmi7
    Original Author
    16 years ago