Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
homesofquality_gw

Mini Cabin started

homesofquality
15 years ago

I guess I posted this in the wrong forum originally. Better fit here hopefully.

We decided to build ourselves a mini-cabin to make life at our recreational property a bit more comfortable - Sharing a 20' travel trailer with two Labradors was a tad bit too cozy.

Here's what we've accomplished so far,

http://s448.photobucket.com/albums/qq202/Yonderosa_photos/

It's just the shell so far. I hope to have the exterior finished by next summer - Decks, soffits, trim, windows and siding.

The wife and I have 10 days of labor into it so far. She's a barista by trade but has a knack for construction. The materials so far are just under $3500 including permits and tax which are ~20% of the total costs so far... yikes.

Other details:

12' x 16' main floor

8' x 12' Covered Porch

12' x 12' Loft

I had planned on building a smaller structure (I kept the design is simple to make building quick and be efficient with materials to keep the costs down. I'm pleased with how well it has gone and I'm excited to get back to work on it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Yonderosa Mini-Cabin

Comments (8)

• FlowerLady6
    15 years ago

You and your wife have done a GREAT job and I look forward to seeing more pictures as this project moves along. What a wonderful view you have there.

I love the name Yonderosa Mini-Cabin.

FlowerLady

• TxMarti
    15 years ago

Wow, what a view! I love the name too. You two are doing a good job with the building too. Is it a kit or your design?

• flgargoyle
    15 years ago

Great job on your cabin! It goes to show how quickly and inexpensively hard working people can build basic shelter. I can't wait to see the final results- keep us posted!

• emagineer
    15 years ago

What a wonderful place to head for. And there is nothing like the feeling one has doing all on your own. Am curious about plumbing and electrical.

• homesofquality