Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

Eeek! We need to get an addition done by Christmas!

TxMarti
13 years ago

Dd#2 just called and wants to bring her boyfriend for Christmas. That means I need a dining room.

ML, from the time you started getting bids to the start of construction, how long did it take?

I called a plumber today to get a bid and he just left. We need to get pipes moved before we can do anything else.

Comments (8)

• User
    13 years ago

Marti, this is September. Depending on what you must do to create that dining room, it could be ready in two months....or ready in March. Do you have ground freezes?
    Will you need to do foundation work, or just move some interior walls and electrical and plumbing?

If I were you, I'd forget the dining room and just eat as you do normally. What I would do for sure, is get that BATH project taken care of. THAT is the best one.

My present contractor is a good guy, and has lots of other jobs going on. I am not good at saying why there are delays, like cement drying or waiting on inspectors. But he STARTED the job in August, I figure that even with the holiday coming up, he should be done by mid September, or before the end of September at the latest. That does NOT include the painting, the laying of tiles, nor installing doors nor baseboards. We plan to do all of that. I will also install the wire shelving in the closet.

My estimate is conditional on NO hurricanes, of course.
    Sometimes it takes a thing like company coming to motivate us, doesn't it? Have dinner catered, so you can enjoy the visit and not be totally wiped out for the holidays. Put your thinking cap on and you'll come up with something less drastic than adding a dining room, .....or were you already planning on doing that AND the bath?

• kimkitchy
    13 years ago