Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
young_gardener54

Should I add another window box?

young-gardener
13 years ago

I finished building and installing the first window box. I also panited shutters and helped DH hang them. Now, I'm torn.

We've debated what to do about the center window (box and shutters), and I'd love to hear your ideas. I'll see what you think, then I'll share our brainstorms. As it is, something just doesn't seem right.

What would you change?

I hope the dying plants in the box and beds aren't too distracting. It's time to buy the fall flowers, but I haven't made it to the store yet.

Painting the trim/foundation remains on my to do list a year after I started painting the exterior.

Comments (11)

• wi-sailorgirl
    13 years ago

Yes, I think adding a window box to the other window would balance it out a little. Window boxes suit your house perfectly!

• kiki22
    13 years ago

What a beautiful home!! I think another window box would look great and balance it out.

• pfmastin
    13 years ago

How lovely! Your house feels so warm and inviting.

I know things can look quite different "in person", but I'll be the voice of dissent. I like just the one box as it is. There a lot going on, visually on the opposite side of the walk, and I like the balance of the one box with the trees.

• young-gardener
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Our initial plan was just one. Then, we decided the lone shutter looked misplaced and a box might mask it. I wonder if it would look better or worse to split a shutter to the needed width and put it between the window and the porch.

• emagineer
    13 years ago

I wouldn't worry about another shutter. In the real world your shutters would have needed to be 3 times their current size for use.

And I agree with just one window box. Your home is adorable. Forget where you live, are you green all year? If you get snow, wait until winter to take a second look at the overall feel. But I still love it as it is.