Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flgargoyle

Yet another floor plan....

flgargoyle
13 years ago

I've posted so many floor plans over on Building a House, I'm sure they're tired of me! You guys probably are, too, but are too nice to say it! LOL

This is my fine-tuned version of a small cross-gable plan that I've been re-designing for 3 years now. I keep going back to the cross gable because my major rooms all have windows on 3 sides for light and ventilation. Remember, this is in the middle of the woods, so privacy is not a consideration. There is the possibility of a second floor in the main gable, and there will be a walk-out basement, again, at least under the main gable. The second floor likely will not happen, but it makes for a really cute house with the center gable going up 2 stories instead of one. The mountain view is at the end the kitchen is on. The MBR is on the east side. Please disregard the word 'kitchen' outside of the house; don't know how that got there!

I still have issues with the plan, but I'll bravely keep them to myself until the conversation is underway. Thanks in advance for your opinions!

Comments (8)

• TxMarti
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I never get tired of looking at floor plans. I like the idea of your plan, but it looks like it would be hard to heat & cool with each room having an exterior wall on 3 sides, plus more expensive to build with that many gables. But the views would be incredible.

The only change I would actually make to it would be to flip the master closet & bathrooms, so you could access the 2nd bathroom from the privacy of the kitchen, and the stairs would help soundproof it from the living area.

• Shades_of_idaho
    13 years ago

Jay I never tire of looking at floor plans either so let them come all you want. REALLY.