Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
graywings123

Stove burners - how many?

graywings123
13 years ago

I posted this previously on the Home Decorating forum. I'm posting here for a possible different perspective.

On a regular basis, how many of your stove burners do you use? I'm just beginning to think about a kitchen remodel and am trying to assess what my real needs are and balancing that with the fact that I expect to sell the house some 10 years down the road.

Could you easily live with just 2 of the traditional 4 burners that are on most stovetops? I know there is a kitchen forum, but I believe that the responses there would weigh towards the-more-the-better.

Comments (10)

• idie2live
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Graywings! Welcome to the small homes forum.
    The way you live would determine the number of burners you need. On a daily basis 2 burners would work fine for me. (There are only 2 adults in my home).
    Thanksgiving is the only holiday that requires 4 or more burners around here. But even then, I've discovered that lots of dishes can be cooked days or even weeks ahead of time without a loss in quality.
    Also, you could use the electric fry pan or just as easily have an additional 2 burner hot plate that is stored away until you need it.
    There are a couple of posters on this board who use a 2 burner all of the time. I'm sure they will reply with their experience.
    Loretta

• User
    13 years ago

Graywings, I think you are right about Kitchens Forum. I'm sure a big kitchen is wonderful, but my needs are not so great.

In fact, almost a year ago I threw out (literally) the electric range that was in the house when we moved here. Rain came down the vent pipe, and it was rusted too badly to be safe. I did not want another electric range, since I planned to get eventually a gas 4 burner Bertazzoni range which is only 24 inches wide.