Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myrealnameismama_goose

Small kitchen/question about counter material

Hi, I just joined gardenweb, and I've really enjoyed reading everyone's posts. I'm also fairly new to internet use, and the amount of information available is amazing.

Our home started life as a 900sf foursquare cottage with two small bedrooms tucked into the attic eaves. Our home has been added onto several times, and we are adding on again, which will probably take us over the 2000sf 'small home limit.' So, I thought I'd better join gardenweb NOW, although I will always have a small home state of mind. The original part of our house doesn't have closets, except for a tiny 'under-the-stairs' cubby, big enough for a few coats and my vacuum cleaner. Our addition has 18 feet of closets!!! I'm thrilled! I know that when they are finished that space will fill up quickly, but I'm dreaming about how I'll arrange everything. Do I need to get out more?!

I just posted the following questions to the Kitchens forum, but if anyone here has advice or info, I'd welcome it:

We own a home built in the 1920's, and I'd like to give my 13x13 kitchen a vintage look. I currently have off-white painted cabinets which I will keep, and laminate countertops which I need to replace. I love the look of soapstone, but unfortunately it's way outside my budget. I'm considering black marble tile for the counters, with a carrera slab for a free-standing baking center. I am repurposing a small (30x30) vintage carrera slab that I already own, for the baking center, and I have 12x12 'New St.Laurent' tiles for the counter. I've searched on 'marble' and found some beautiful kitchens with carrera/soapstone, and carrera/black granite, but no black marble.

Is there a reason that black marble isn't used often in kitchens? Does anyone have pictures of kitchens with black marble counters and/or backsplashes?