Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oneblueonebrown

New Here! Family of 3 living in 888 Sq feet

oneblueonebrown
11 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to the small homes forum (and gardenweb in general). DH and I bought our first house in December, a 888 sq foot Ranch. We wanted a smaller house for the cost savings (we were approved for almost $60k more than what we bought our house for). I am currently a stay at home mom to our 1.5 year old DD and we didn't want to be house poor. Our house is in a great neighborhood right near the bay and we will be able to walk DD to school when the time comes. Honestly, I don't really feel cramped here (aside from our one and only bathroom, it is TINY!) We have a full unfinished basement, a 3 season room that is about 100 sq feet and a nice fenced in backyard.

Our biggest challenges are updating our house on our shoe string budget and coming up with storage/organization solutions. The previous owner was a 93 year old lady who last updated the kitchen in the 70's and never touched the vintage 50's pink bathroom.

Looking forward to getting to know you all and getting some inspiration!

Comments (47)

• jakabedy
    11 years ago

Welcome! You have found kindred souls here, and I'm sure you'll be at home very quickly.

• TxMarti
    11 years ago

Welcome oneblueonebrown. Very smart of you to live beneath your means. It will really take the stress out of your lives, and make it easier to save up for your projects. Have you checked out Ikea? They have so many ideas for small spaces. Also, check out RV dealers that have a store for a lot of ways to use space.

I'd love to see pictures of your home, especially the 50's bathroom. Have you seen that blog or maybe it was a website with 50's pink bathrooms, and maybe kitchens too.

• kitykat
    11 years ago