Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gayle0000

What's the deal with spacious bedrooms?

gayle0000
16 years ago

Mostly just venting on my observations because I've never understood this.

Probably since I'm coming from the mindset that I like to live in smaller spaces...and I like to do my "living" in my living rm, kitchen, and public spaces...I just can't relate to the idea of having huge square footage in bedrooms.

You see it on most house hunting shows...spacious bedrooms with additional media or sitting areas. I hear it from people I know. I used to be a Realtor & got that all the time. Sometimes, these master bedrooms are just as big as the living room.

I'm all for having a roomy-enough bedroom where I can spread my stuff around and be in private. I understand the need to have the "sanctuary" room and/or a bit of extra luxury. I understand needing enough room if 2 people are getting ready at the same time.

Do people REALLY hang out in their bedrooms that much where they need additional seating areas? I never have. I have a wonderful view from my BR window...but I'm still not going to hang out in there with my coffee or watch tv.

Anyone care to agree, disagree, or comment in general? I know this is more of a personal preference concept...but it makes for fun talk.

Gayle

Comments (40)

• jilliferd
    16 years ago

Gayle,

I would have to agree with you. Previous house the MBR was 18 x 20 but due to window and closet placement there wasn't much usable wall space with only place to put the bed. New house MBR is aprx. 13 x 14 and seems just right. We have a 7 x 11 walk-in closet between the bedroom and 9.5 x 11 bath so our 'personal space' is more than adequate.

The only thing I find is that when friends come over, even though we have a fairly big great room area, they still seem to want to cram into the kitchen area so that could be about twice as big when we entertain but on a day to day level with the two of us it is perfectly fine.

Jill

• flgargoyle