Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

In your small house, where do you put ____?

TxMarti
12 years ago

Feel free to fill in the blank with your "where can I put this?" item.

Mine is sewing paraphernalia, other than fabric & sewing machines.

I spent a week with my mom after she had knee surgery, and I decided she is a Compulsive Clutterer. And since I have a degree of OCD, or COD (in alphabetical order), I usually feel an intense need to declutter when I get home from her house.

So yesterday I pulled all the crap out of my den and piled it in the living room/junk room to decide what to do with it.

Since dd has moved back home, I only have one spare bedroom and have all my fabric stash in boxes under that bed. That system is not working either, but that's another issue.

In the den, I found I had 3 boxes of stuff, like zippers, buttons, yarn, interfacing, and patterns, and no where to put it. Also found my stash of scrapbooking paper.

In my someday plans, I'd like to build in a wall of shelves like Nancy did, and I can put doors on the bottom and hide this stuff. But for now, I have 2 bookshelves, both stuffed with books and some trinkets.

I've looked around and don't see any spare space to put this stuff, except the attic. I don't want to put it in the attic because I know I will never go up there when I need something.

Is there an untapped source of space I'm missing? End tables are both stuffed, both big beds have stuff under them. Where do other people put this type thing?

Comments (32)

• clueless
    12 years ago

I put stuff in the basement that I'm not going to use by the end of the summer, to make room for the stuff that doesn't have a place to go.

I weed my books ruthlessly to make room on the shelves for other stuff, which I put in baskets. If I've had a book for more than 2 years and haven't read it, out it goes. If it is fiction and I've read it, same thing, unless it is so wonderful that I cannot live without it.