Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
invadersmall

Need help with tiny house floorplan!

invadersmall
13 years ago

Hello! I'm new to the small homes club.

My boyfriend and I plan on renovating my house and I'm having trouble deciding on a floor plan for the kitchen / living room area.

This is a tiny 1080 sq ft 3 bed 1 bath house on a slab.

I can't slide the dryer over due to the water line and tub access in the way but we've considered getting a stack able unit.

So far the thoughts have been:

-Knocking out the wall where the stove and fridge are leaving the area feeling more open.

-Cutting some of the laundry room space to make the kitchen 2 feet larger. My only negative is losing valuable storage space in that room. There's about 2 feet of space that can be cut out by moving the doorway to the hallway closer to the furnace.

- Eliminating the doorway into the laundry room from the kitchen completely.

Dining room space is over rated so I only need a small space for a table and chairs.

The other trouble I'm having is with the long skinny living room only having 2 walls that don't work well for my couch / tv setup.

Any suggestions? and thanks in advance!

Comments (10)

• TxMarti
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You said you are on slab. Where is your kitchen plumbing? Is your stove gas or electric? Is the room to the right of your kitchen just utility, or is it also the bathroom? You said the dryer couldn't move because of the tub. Is one of the bedrooms to the right of the living room? What kind of porch is over the entry door & patio door, and what kind of flooring there, slab, deck, brick? If slab, is it part of the original pour, or a separate pour from the rest of the house? Is it the same level as the house or a step or two down? Does the front door face the street? And last, what is your budget?