Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosietee_gw

Long and Narrow Mudroom... panicking

RosieTee
10 years ago

Hello, newbie here.

We are in middle of building a condo, and we have a small area designated as a mudroom (there are no closets at that main entrance). Problem? The room is 3 feet by 5'4, door at one narrow end. I want to maximize the space for a few children (I *wish* adults, too) to be able to put their coats, shoes, briefcases there.

I cannot figure out the maximum depth of any cubby etc. that will still allow for walking space!

Comments (22)

• lavender_lass
    10 years ago

Sounds like a closet rather than a room. If the wall with the door is only 3' wide, do you really need a door? Maybe leave the archway and have a bench on the opposite (back) wall....with hooks for coats and a place underneath for shoes. This would give the kids a place to store their things and maybe let them display their school work on the walls. If it's too small for adults, make it a fun kids' area that they'll want to use :)

• sherwoodva
    10 years ago

Hi, RosieTee

Minimum hall width is three feet. I would think you would want a bit more than that. If you have an 18" deep cubby/seat, you will have a hall that is 3'10" wide at that point. We have a bench built into a kitchen wall. (No foyer or hall.) It has a seat with a cushion, cupboard doors underneath (space for shoes) and coat hooks above. Since your space is small but long, you could have a seat with cubbies underneath for shoes and then coat hooks all along the wall.

Before you do anything, get some cardboard boxes and cut to fit the dimensions you are considering. Tape into place and live with it for at least a week. That will let you know if it fits your comfort level.

Hope this helps.

• TxMarti
    10 years ago

I can't quite envision it. It's a closet that is 3' wide by 5' deep? Cubby's are generally 10-12" deep - at least the ones at school.

• camlan
    10 years ago