Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caligal_gw

Hard times.....glad to have small house

caligal
15 years ago

I was just thinking about the economy and how glad I am to have my small house. Even though, I have a degree I can stay home and raise my son and do volunteer work. If I had a giant house, I don't know if that would be the case. I would have a higher mortgage payment, higher upkeep bills, and probably 2-3x the amount of our current utility bills.

If my husband were to lose his job, we would be OK because we have 8 months worth of living expenses tucked away. Now, if I had a giant house, the savings may only get us through 3 or so months.

Comments (8)

• graycern
    15 years ago

Even in good economic times it is great to have a smaller home. When you are not house-poor then you have more money to spend on things you enjoy. I love to travel. I live simply so I have the money to do it.

• fandlil
    15 years ago

THE NOT SO BIG HOUSE is a book that deals with this subject. It is a very thoughtful treatment of the subject. The author (whose name I cannot remember) has also written a sequel.

• trixieinthegarden
    15 years ago

Sarah Susanka wrote that book, and it's got great insight and information.

Here's a link to her website

Here is a link that might be useful: Sarah Susanka

• gayle0000
    15 years ago

Aside from looking at investment statements, I haven't felt any day-to-day effects of the economy. With that said, I can't agree with you more!

I had a budget in my home-buying process, and I ended up spending $13K less than I planned. It was by a paperwork miscommunication/mistake with my Realtor that I even looked at this place. I bought it because I loved it.