Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_pyle

Books and life dreams.

Shades_of_idaho
13 years ago

So ML's post about books made me comment and then I HAD to go see if I tossed those beloved books that I believe saved me life and sanity. AND YES I do still have them.

So it was Helen Hoover that wrote the books I so dearly loved. I found them in Readers Digest that came to my house when I was young. I did not have the best of home life and not looking for a pity party. Just stating that this first book came to me at a time I so desperately needed hope to be able to go on. Belief there was a better life beyond what I was living at the time.

I left home the day after I graduated form high school never to go back. This Book A Place in The woods was where I wanted to live. Well I did move to Yosemite or close and work at a family camp for that first summer and then spent another 19 years trying to get back to my Place in the Woods.Working and saving my money.

Sort of funny now thinking about all of this as their cabin in the woods was a small place and my first cabin in the woods only it was not wooded right at the house was small.

She wrote many books but the three. A Place In The Woods. Days of the forest and Gift Of The Deer are my very Favorite.

Found the first one and NOW I am going to have to read the set again. I think the Yearling is also in my collection and I thought it was part of this series as it is similar but is is written by a different author.

Chris

Here is a link that might be useful: A Place In The Woods.

Comments (18)

• Shades_of_idaho
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Well I have to say I went to read the reviews and it was not only me that had been so touched by her books. WOW I am SO glad I kept them. You all might not see me for a few days while I re read them. And work. Darn Have to do that again starting tomorrow.

Chris

• flgargoyle
    13 years ago