SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
carriebor

Things that Turn you off in the Personals

Carrie B
20 years ago

I've been doing Online personals on and off now for several months, and there are several things I see in men's profiles that immediately turn me off. Some, I think are just plain offensive, and some are things that are probably peculiar to my own particular sensibilities.

I met a man Online recently that I'm hopeful about, and this is one of the things we discussed. It was interesting for me to hear a man's perspective on things that women say. Here's my (partial) list of things men say that bug me, I'd love to hear yours.

What they say they're looking for.

-want a woman who is equally comfortable in an evening gown as she is in blue jeans. (now, who is really equally comfortable in an evening gown?)

-A woman who appreciates chivalry and likes a man that opens doors for her. (what is he really looking for here? Not that there's anything wrong with opening doors, but...)

-A woman who takes good care of herself. (what does this mean? I suspect it is code for "not overweight")

-Someone who has no baggage/doesn't believe in head games. (oh please! If he doesn't understand that baggage is a part of living life...)

-I'm a 55 year old man seeking a woman between 25 and 40. (you'd be amazed how many men specify an age range well below their age!)

-Looking for a best friend/soulmate. (aren't we all? That's why we're on this website, it's trite)

Who they say they are:

-I know what women want/I know how to treat a lady. (excuse me? does that mean that all women are the same?)

-I'm a renaissance man. (now, what does that mean?)

-Successeful, attractive. (are you using the fact that you have money as a marketing tool? If you're attractive, put your picture up, that's subjective anyway)

-I am equally comfortable in a tux and in blue jeans (yawn)

-I like working out and keeping in shape (and that makes you a good partner because?)