Return to the Single Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need ideas for my 'coming out' party

Posted by sayhellonow (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 18, 08 at 16:20

I guess that phrase has a different meaning these days, but what I mean is that I'm trying to get back into some sort of social life after breaking off a four-year relationship. So I need some ideas -- from everyone, but especially from you guys.

I'm thinking of having a small group of friends over for a get-together on my patio (if it ever gets warm enough, that is). I'd like a really classy but simple menu. If the recipes can be made ahead, it's even better. I don't know how to grill anything, so that's out. Otherwise I'm a pretty good cook and hostess.

He's a neighbor in my condominium complex. It's probably a bit spiteful (hanging head in shame), but I want him to know that I'm moving on and having some fun doing it. There will only be about six or eight of us.

So what do you think? Any ideas for me?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need ideas for my 'coming out' party

Sweetie, there aren't many guys on this forum. You might have better luck asking for help in the entertaining forums, although I don't know of any forums that have guys on them, except the obvious ones. You might have to accept womens' suggestions!!! It sure sounds like fun, though.

o

I want everyone's suggestions. I just thought some of the guys might have some that us gals didn't think about. Bring 'em on, Kay!

o

Well, first of all - I wouldn't bring a potential love interest into a crowd = that's just me - I'd keep him all to myself, so we could focus on each other.

I would be straight-forward with this new guy! I'd simply invite him over for a meal - tell him you have fixed way more lasagna than you could ever eat by yourself, and you'd like him to 'help you' consume it!!!

You don't need to hang your head - you're free, single and over 21, so it is OK! Women don't have devious motives - we have PLANS! LOL