o
RE: Does anyone ever come here anymore?

Maybe everyone got married.

o

LOL, Asolo!!!!

o

I suspect that people have switched to other kinds of online stuff. Facebook, etc. Also some of us are on listserves which are interactive groups of people you actually end up meeting at conferences, etc. As an attorney I am on listserves of probate and trust lawyers in my county and we exchange information, solve problems. For instance, we got info about the possible shutdown and how it would affect courts. The advantage is you know they are real people and not trolls since you have to use your name, address, etc. and join that bar association. We also have social events and its fun meeting people you only knew by name. There are lots of groups like that.

o

Social Networking sites like Facebook have definitely taken away active users as Marg727 mentioned. You can seek like-minded people at other forums, good luck in your search.

o

Thanks Marge & Mary -- it's good to know this forum is still visited, if only occasionally.

I'm not searching for anything or anyone -- just enjoy chatting with other single adults from time to time. For security reasons, I would not want to use my name online, either professionally or personally.

o

Hi sayhellonow,

Thanks for replying. I searched Google for Toxic Parents and came to some comments posted here from '07 or so under the topic "Adults Estranged from Parents." I think it is sometimes good to vent similar growing up situations. I am trying to improve my own outlook and my relationships with my alcoholic somewhat abusive Mom as a middle-aged adult. I would guess there are many lurkers who read the forums, but never bother to post as it is very personal.