Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pvaughn2241

New to sergers

pvaughn2241
18 years ago

Just bought the Singer Ultralock at the local Walmart. Have no idea how to use it. I have been sewing for over 30 years but this is my first serger. The manual isn't very helpful. Anyone have this serger? Would appreciate any advice.....return it .....buy another brand ......give up completely !!!!!

Thanks

Comments (11)

• grittymitts
    18 years ago

I bought a used Baby Lock from a dealer several years ago & was offered some lessons, but due to DH's health was unable to take advantage of it, and oh how I regret it! Once I retired and we moved I have time to sew, but there are no classes nearby. Arrrgh!

To tell the truth, I'm scared silly of a thread change, one breaking, etc. The book is confusing to me too.
    If I could do it all over again, I'd definitely get some lessons before I ever tried to use it.

Suzi

• covehillsoaper
    18 years ago

Return it to Walmart and go buy one where you can get lessons. Most sewing places have used ones on sale from people who upgraded and offer at least one free lesson. Good luck.

• knitin_kittin
    18 years ago

I bought a serger from Walmart and signed up for lessons through my local Joanns store ($60). The instructor could not get the machine to work properly even after hours of trying. I took it back to Walmart and bought a White 1934D through Joanns and got free lessons. I love my new machine and it only cost me $100 more than the Singer, but the lessons were free so it really only cost me $40 more and IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. The threading on this machine is so easy and with the Singer you had to actually thread a part of the machine without being able to see it...it was crazy. Take your machine back (Walmart gave me absolutly no problem with the return) and get yourself a machine that comes with help. Good Luck.

• pvaughn2241
    Original Author
    18 years ago