Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gfoak

upholstery fabric w/ olefin - can it be pressed?

gfoak
14 years ago

I am brand new to sewing, having received my machine just a few days ago. I want to make a box cushion for my dog - and I found a $40/yard piece of fabric for $3/yard in the remnants pile.

It is, if I recall correctly, 30% olefin, 35% cotton, 35% polyester. An online search tells me that olefin cannot be pressed.

I thought a staple of sewing was pressing your seams, can you get away with not doing that?

thanks for any pointers!

Comments (6)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Yes, a hot iron would melt olefin. This is an upholstry fabric that does not require pressing, especially when making a cushion.

In tailoring clothes pressing is most necessary, but most upholstry does not need pressing. If you look at your figures 65% of your fabric is synthetic fiber.

• sewwht
    14 years ago

I agree, I wouldn't use an iron on Olefin (man-made nylon). If you want nice flat seams you can top stitch the seam down which makes it more sturdy, or run your thum nail over the seams to flatten them.

• sewwht
    14 years ago

One more thing if you are new to sewing, safety first. Always keep your fingers away from the needle. It sounds crazy to have to say it but sometimes we can get in a hurry and it's something to be aware of.
    Also be careful not to pull the fabric through, just guide it. Pulling can break needles.

• gfoak
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you both for the advice, I really appreciate it.

I already have been pulling the fabric through - namely because I was hemming jeans and when you get to the thick part, the feed dogs were not advancing it. Not sure how else I would have gotten around this part other than maybe just handstitching over the seams.