Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimbercup

Purchasing a Sewing machine......

kimbercup
15 years ago

Hi. I am glad to find this forum. I really need the help of all of you sewing veterans!

I am totally new to sewing. I want to learn to make my own clothes, and clothes and for my kids ect..

Well, I didnt want to just buy your average walmart sewing machine, because that was what my sister did, and she has regretted it ever since.

I did a little bit of research on good long lasting sewing machines, and came up with a few names that I thought I would look for on ebay. Janome, Necchi, Bernina....ect

I jumped on a BUY NOW, and committed myself to purchasing one, and now I want to know if I have made a mistake!! LOL!!

I found a Necchi 535FA in very gently used condition. It LOOKS like a beautiful machine, in like new condition, but, since it is an older model, do you think I have made a mistake?? Oh, I paid 39.99 for it.

Let me know what you think about this as a beginners machine. I dont even know if it does buttonholes!! LOL!!

Thanks! Kim

Comments (9)

• kimbercup
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I forgot to mention that, since I love linen, I do plan on sewing using linen fabric, which I know is a bit of a heavier coarser fabric. So, this was why I wanted a machine that was heavier duty, then your average everyday low price 68.88 plastic model brother at my local walmart. (Not that I have anything against brother specifically, only know that my sister cannot sew much of anything with hers....)

• damascusannie
    15 years ago

I don't think that you can go too far wrong at that price, even with the shipping added. It does do buttonholes, BTW. These later model Necchi's aren't the same quality as the earlier ones, but that's pretty much the case with any model and it should be able to get you started fairly painlessly.

Annie

• budster
    15 years ago