Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Tips for sewing fleece? Scarves, hats

I have never worked on this before. I read that it is tricky to sew, and I have a touchy 30 year old machine.

A few questions: Is it true that fleece does not need to be pre-shrunk? This is No-Pill Fleece, the more expensive kind, a grade up from Blizzard.

At the fabric store they were recommending a walking foot to use it, but it was very expensive (more than I spent on the fabric). Alternatively, they suggested lightening the pressure on the foot. My machine does not seem to have that function: the foot attaches with a set screw, and there is only one height to place it at. The lever at the back to move it up and down does not have intermediate stops, either. There was nothing in the manual. Ideas? If material does not feed well I often gently pull at the back with my left hand and guide with my right.

Edge treatments? Do cut edges roll? I have a scarf I made years back that constantly rolls itself into a tube. I have to flatten it out to wear it. It is a fleece like material but only on one side.

I am making a couple of scarves, some hats, and a cat bed (the cat bed is practice!). They were suggesting leaving the edges unfinished on the scarves, but that's not me. I was going to double the fabric, make a tube, and top stitch the edges. No fringe. Does that end up being too hot and thick in fleece? Am I better off just using a single thickness, folding the edges twice, and hemming normally? Folding once, and hemming? As edges don't ravel?

I know it stretches mostly in one direction. I assume, for the hats it should run sideways, for the scarves lengthwise? Thanks!

Comments (6)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

What make and model machine do you have?

Look up the manual on the Internet.

There should be a pressure foot pressure adjustment, often a knob at the top of the machine, directory over the foot.