Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maibonn

Looking for machine advice

maibonn
14 years ago

I have been using my Mom's machine. It's an old Singer Touch & Sew... I believe a 600e. I love this machine, but my mom is going to want it back and I have no idea where to get it repaired anymore. The last place I knew just went out of business this summer. It's for that same reason I'm not trying to find one just like it for me. But that thing is a sturdy work horse. It sews anything I can throw at it.

Now, I would like to find a machine of my own so I can my mom's back to her. I'm an advanced beginner to intermediate sewer. I tend to enjoy sewing some garments but I also very much enjoy making bags and purses. So the machine I get needs to be able to sew through several layers. I also want the machine to be sturdy and last many years if possible. (If it was the workhorse the Singer is, that would be great, but I am pretty sure that's an unrealistic goal.) But, I don't want to pay loads of money. I'd like to stay around $500 or less.

I'd been looking at the Janome Magnolia 7330 but have read that it's not great at sewing things like denim or many layers such as those found when making a purse or bag. Is this true? Is there a Janome or other sturdy brand that might better fit my needs?

Thank you so much for your help. =)

Comments (6)

• happytomato2008
    14 years ago