Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jujucrafts

tips on sewing sleeves/zipper

jujucrafts
13 years ago

Hi there:

I've been sewing for 3 years, but most of my projects have not involved too complicated techniques. I feel like I am ready for a new challenge and was hoping to get a few suggestions on the best techniques to attach sleeves (or any round sewing for that matter) and zippers.

Thank you in advance for the help!

Comments (4)

• lizzie2
    13 years ago

Jujucrafts. Have you ever thought of sewing a duffle bag? It includes the sewing in a circle and the zipper and is a great first project. There are patterns online and in some books that may it at your library. I usually put the straps on first then sew the zipper. Sew the zipper in on one side with right side of the fabric down to the right side of the zipper fold over so right side is up again and sew that side of the zipper again so it will be a very secure zipper and then repeat for the other side. Pin the circle to the rube and stitch. I usually hand baste the circle and tube together so it will be easier to machine stitch and then repeat for the other side. It is a great first project that I can use to take projects to events where my children are playing or when I go to the Y to work out. It is a fast project that will give you an item to use right away. If you make the side shorter you could use as a purse also.

• izzie
    13 years ago