Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
salgal33

pajamas tore

Sally Brownlee
14 years ago

I am a beginner at sewing. I made my GD a pair of PJ bottoms and I thought they turned out really great. I gave them to her on Saturday and after about 5 hours wearing around the house, the crotch tore. Not the seam, but the fabric came apart.

I had gotten flannel at Walmart. Was it the quality of the material? The wrong stitch?

I would like to try again, any suggestion would be very appreciated!

Comments (5)

• sheesh
    14 years ago

Very frustrating, eh? Sounds like the the flannel frayed. Sometimes, it just happens. Not a very helpful response, but I've seen it happen and have never known why it did.

Don't let a bad experience keep you from trying again. I've been sewing for 35 years - and I sew A LOT! - and still make mistakes and have fabrics shred/rip now and then. I don't think it was because it was WalMart fabric, as I've had it happen on other fabrics and I don't buy at WalMart.

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Please don't let it discourage you. Flannelette frays very easily and will tear along the grain. You have to overcast the seams especially in the crotch. If you clipped the curve and didn't reinforce it, it would rip right where it was clipped.

I have bought flannelette at Walmart and it was better quality than what I bought at my fabric store. The closer the weave --the better the flannelette--no matter where you buy it.

I don't know what stitches there are on your machine so I'll give you a few options.Here's what to do on the next pair.

After they are sewn and before you do the casing for the elastic. Trim the seams to 1/4 inch and overcast them The best overcast stitch is a three step zig zag---or

Run a medium zig zag stitch next to your stitching line, sewing both seam allowances together and trim the excess being careful not to cut the stitching.

If you are trimming the seam to 1/4 inch there is no need to clip the curves.