Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tips for machine embroidery?

Posted by AnnieDeighnaugh (My Page) on
Mon, Nov 19, 12 at 7:47

I have committed (or should be committed) to make a veil for an upcoming wedding. The bride wants a cathedral length veil but with some designs near the bottom with some beads and sequence.

I can either hand embroider or machine embroider. I don't have one of the fancy embroidery machines, but would have to do free hand embroidery on the machine. I've never done it before. Are there any tips and tricks I should know about??? Also, the veil she saw that she liked was embroidered in silver colored thread...is this something I can use in a machine? I figured then I could use invisible thread to attach the beads on top of the base.

Otherwise, I suppose I can revert to hand embroidery....

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tips for machine embroidery?

Cathedral length is the longest kind of veil, correct?
I wish I could help you, but have no embroidery experience.
Since this post has been up for a while, I was wondering what you decided to do.

Any pictures? When is the wedding?

Laurie

o

Yes cathedral is the longest. Her train is 22" and the veil will be on the floor beyond her train.

I have been busy practicing hand embroidery, hand beading, playing with stick on and sew on crystals, machine applique, and free hand machine embroidery to create my own monogram to attach to the veil. I chip away at it when I can, but holiday stuff is now interfering. Fortunately she's not getting married until July, so I have some time.

I largely have a design and a plan of action, and I think I have most of the materials....I have some more experimenting to do with threads and such and then I will be ready to start the real veil. So progress is being made....

Thanks for asking!

o