Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ms_minnamouse

Is it possible to make your own sewing patterns?

ms_minnamouse
13 years ago

I'm a novice when it comes to sewing but would like to get into the hobby, especially to sew for my dog. You know, to make clothes, costumes, and such.

My question is, is it possible to create your own sewing patterns? Do they maybe sell kits for this? Is there some sort of guidelines I need to follow or anything? I know nothing about this!

Comments (5)

• ms_minnamouse
    Original Author
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My dog is large with an unusual body shape, by the way. There aren't a lot of pre-made patterns out there in her size.

• blitzyblond_protege
    13 years ago

try net-searching "livingsoft software" they have computer program that allows you to custom design/ fit patterns. Years ago their news letter talked about they were considering creating a line for pets.

I didn't have the money then and I have been out of the sewing mood for a few years. Hope it might lead you somewhere useful.

• ilovedobies
    13 years ago

I have two dobermans and last year I made them winter coats. I did buy a couple of patterns but I didn't use them. I did have a winter coat that I bought so I made a pattern with that coat. I added a tummy warmer and a long collar to keep their neck warm on those cold winter days. I'm also a novice sewer. It took me a while to make the two patterns but it worked.

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    13 years ago

I think you might want to try your local library - see if they have any books on pattern drafting - or even books about making pet 'clothing'...

You might also try buying a pattern & tracing it onto sturdy paper, so you can play around w/it.

• graciesfire
    13 years ago