Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerseygirl1000

Machines with bottom-loading bobbin

jerseygirl1000
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to sewing and began taking lessons. My sewing instructor recommends getting a machine with a bottom-loading bobbin design. I'm seeing this feature on Bernina's and lower-end Brother's. As much as I love Bernina, I just can't afford it right now.

Are there other bottom-loading bobbin machines anyone can recommend? Or does it really not make a difference when it comes to machine selection?

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• kathi_mdgd
    12 years ago

I'm not sure what she means by bottom loading,unless she means Drop in,vs loaded in from the side.But yes there are tons of machines with drop in bobbins.

Here's a link you may want to read before you go shopping,it has lots of good information.

http://www.quilt.com/FAQS/SewMachinePurchaseFAQ.html

Then you can also google sewing machines with drop in bobbins and you'll see many of them.
    Good luck with your search and classes.Come back and let us know how you are doing,and welcome to the forum
    Kathi

• shadylady2u
    12 years ago

I can't imagine why she recommends one over the other or what she means either. I have a lot of machines, both home and industrials. Most have the side load (at the bottom) and I have a Singer with the drop in (but also at the bottom).
    There's probably more to choose from with the side load, but I can't see any actual difference in the sewing between the two, and I've been sewing forever.
    I would just buy the machine I liked and not worry about it.

• pris
    12 years ago

I didn't know what a "bottom loading" bobbin was either so I googled it. The following is extracted from an article on the Bernina and explains why they choose to use this feature in their machines. Pay attention to the last line or so. I would say that if you are going to be doing a lot of quilting or machine embroidering then you might want to consider it but otherwise not.