Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
need lots of fabric - cheap!

Posted by danaoh (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 31, 08 at 13:02

I will be doing an indoor craft show, and want to seperate my booth from others. I have an old 8X8 canopy, would like to use it without the top. Was thinking of sheers from the thrift store, if I could find enough in the same color to cover the 3 walls. What else could I use? It doesn't have to be fabric, just easy for me to carry and attach to the poles of the frame. and CHEAP! Figured you all would know how to get the most fabric for your buck - table cloths? Sheets? Help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: need lots of fabric - cheap!

I am just getting into rag rugs and I use bed sheets. I get them mostly at thrift stores and garage sales. Maybe curtains from thrift store would work also?. If you need something better see if you have one of those warehouse fabrics stores near you. Sometimes cheaper, but not always.
You would be surprised at what nice stuff you can find at thrift stores sometimes.

o

Even if you can't get enough sheets in one color you could dye them. My kids have been playing with RIT dye and it's been seriously improved--working much better with more brilliant colors than in the past. I'm going to be buying a couple of bolts of muslin and start dying my own quilt backings after seeing the results they've been getting.

Annie

o

shower curtains from the dollar store

o

mosquito netting, muslin is cheap (it used to be, anyway) or cheese cloth? Sheeting fabric is really wide and probably cheaper than made-up sheets. Find local discount fabric places -- the major chains have great coupons which will help a lot. What about cheap tarp or plastic sheeting from the hardware store? Ugly can sometimes be a lot of fun!? No?

o