Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weeper_11

Help Me Choose Between These!

weeper_11
12 years ago

Alright, so I am a novice sewist, and I am looking at getting myself a sewing machine. I have 3 in particular that I have an eye on, though I am not stuck on them.

1 - a Babylock Grace that has been lightly used and is in excellent shape. For sale for $500 which includes an extension table or something.

2 - A Husqvarna Viking Interlude 445 selling for $700. According to the ad it has been used only once and there is nothing wrong with it.

3 - a Janome 3160 QDC or a 2030 QDC. I like the 3160 better, but I'm not sure yet what it will sell for(I'll have to buy new) so if I can't afford it, then the 2030.

I plan to use it for making baby clothes, possibly some clothes for myself, and I may try quilting. I am interested in making decorative pillows, table runners, kids costumes, stuff like that. I want a machine that has all the basic stitches, plus a few decorative, user-friendly, the ability to sew various fabrics well, and to have a relatively long life. I can't spend more then about 700 dollars. One that is easy enough to start on, but is a good enough machine that it will allow me to grow.

I live on a farm, but there is a dealership for each of the above brands within an hours drive. The two used machines are private sales though.

One more question: if I'm a complete beginner, how do I know what to look for if I try the machine out? I won't be able to compare it to anything, so I'm not sure that trying it will help me decide.(I took sewing in high school and loved it, but I've forgotten everything by now!)

Comments (6)

• kathi_mdgd
    12 years ago

Since you're a beginner,i'd suggest googling each of the machines you have in mind,before you actually go shopping.Make notes and take them with you,also take pieces of fabric that you think you will be sewing on in the future,and do your test sewing on those.