Return to the Sewing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pls help, Brother needle bar question

Posted by amandalynn (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 26, 08 at 18:39

Hi There,

I bet this will be an easy fix for one of you pros! I'm new to sewing, please forgive the lack of technicality:

I have a Brother XR-46 machine (pls see photo) and while I was sewing (darn velcro!) the needle stopper fell off (from the "main driver bar"). I have tried shoving it back onto the bar but it works its way off quickly. The needle bar is intact but just won't stay attached to the main bar.

There is no mention of this in the Instruction Manual, it doesn't even talk about the "main driver bar" at all. I am posting a photo in hopes that someone will know how to remedy this situation. THANKS SO MUCH!

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pls help, Brother needle bar question

That's the needle clamp that fell off. Slip it back into place (make sure you have the 'front' facing forward) and while holding it with your left hand, use the screwdriver in your right hand to tighten the needle clamp screw (it's black in your picture.) To tighten, turn it clockwise. Do not apply strong force when loosening or tightening the needle clamp screw, otherwise certain parts of the sewing machine may be damaged.
Check your manual for 'Needle Clamp Screw'.
My Brother cs6000 manual has detailed instructions for installing the needle clamp.
HTH
Cathy

o

Thanks for your response! However, in my case, tightening the needle clamp screw only secures the needle in place, and the whole piece will just fall right off of the bar as soon as I try to sew again (hence the photo). In the photo, the needle stays secure in the clamp, but the clamp itself won't stay attached to the "driver bar" (see where I point to in the photo). Hope this helps clarify ;) thanks!

o