Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurie_2008

Evening Dress - for wedding

Laurie
14 years ago

I'm a novice at sewing and could use some help. I am going to attempt to make a dress to wear at my daughter's wedding.

I've made drapery and a couple simple apparel items in the past, but this will be my biggest project ever. I've got a Singer Featherweight that my dear late mother gave to me a long time ago.

It will be a close fitting lined top, princess seams, sleeveless, back button closure. The skirt will be semi fitted straight, lined, evening length/to the floor, left side front slit and back zipper. The jacket will be lined, have a collar, front and back darts. I just ordered fabric online : 100% silk Dupioni, Iridescent Stormy Blue.

With some reasonably priced fabric from my local JoAnn's store, I have practiced sewing the top only. It came out pretty nice, but is a little too big. I am going to practice sewing the skirt to see how that fits me. It's tricky with pattern sizes. In a store, I would buy a size 12 dress.

Looks like the top will need to be cut to a size 18 or 16.

My first question for now is about thread. What is the best thread for this lightweight lined project? Someone told me (the guy who recently serviced my machine) that a good quality thread will not break easily when pulled by hand. Is there a particular Brand name, or anything specific I should look for?

Comments (91)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Pattie and Laurie:
    Yes that's right the height changes. I suppose using the 18 back would be all right if you traced the 16 shoulder and neckline on to the 18 back, but I am also concerned about the gap at the bottom. It seems like it's too tight around the hips.

I would really like to see the purple 18 on. It might take just a few minor changes on the front and shoulders to fit it right. The back on the 16 is too small and it may be that the side seams are a little toward the front too, I couldn't really tell.