Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cambro5

Getting started...

cambro5
15 years ago

Hello - I'm new to this forum (but not to Gardenweb).

I am not a beginner sewer but am not hugely experienced, either. I have done cushions, a duvet cover, a simple quilt. All of this on my grandmother's 1950 Elna (the only sewing machine I've ever used, actually!). I would like to do some more projects and learn some new stuff but don't really enjoy this sewing machine! It's become very temperamental.

I went to my local sewing machine dealer and they showed me a Babylock Audrey - They are having a special on this machine $299 - regularly $600? I cannot find any reviews or information on this machine on the internet. Does anybody have experience with it?

I want a machine with good basic features for home dec. What should I look for?? I have never used a 'modern' machine and need a primer!!

And tips or advice would be appreciated! Thank you!

Comments (9)

• teresa_nc7
    15 years ago

From what I read about the machine on the link below, I would say that it is a good buy at half the regular price. Several of my friends have Babylock machines just for their machine quilting and they really love them. Have not heard any "cons" from them about their machines.

I'd say go for it!

Here is a link that might be useful: Babylock

• debs3
    15 years ago