Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danielletay649

Singer Touch and Sew HELP!

danielletay649
11 years ago

Hi there Everyone!

I just got a Singer Touch and Sew 755 for my birthday. I have been sewing quite a bit since I got it, although I have been doing really basic stuff using cotton and knit material.

I just started adjusting some hems on some knit pajama pants and all of a sudden the stitches became very irregular (missing stitches). I started playing with the settings thinking I could fix the problem and of course I didn't. I replaced the needle thinking it could be bent, and now I cannot get the settings right again. Does anyone know where my stitch settings should be for a straight stitch on knit?

Thanks so much!!!!

Comments (13)

• clt3
    11 years ago

What kind of needle are you using? It should be a ballpoint or stretch needle. Also try using a very narrow zigzag instead of a straight stitch.

• danielletay649
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm pretty sure I am using a stretch needle. I don't really know how to use a zigzag at this point. My skill level in sewing is really limited to just a straight stitch. I have all the cartridges for a zigzag though. If you have suggestions on settings for a zigzag or tips please let me know! As of now though, I am just trying to figure out how to get my singer back to its normal self!

• jomuir
    11 years ago

I don't think you need a cam for a zigzig, I found a sales blurb that said the width is adjustable, & listed the cams for fancy stuff. It says 'it has a simplicity of dial controls for stitch length, width, and pattern; pressure and tension settings'. Found that at http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/vintage-singer-touch-and-sew-755-w-accessories.

On this website, see pg 3, it lists what all the cams are for.
    http://www.tandtrepair.com/Schematics/737_750_755_756_758_770_775_778.pdf