Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lamd_gw

Which Viking?

lamd
15 years ago

I'm glad I found this forum! I am new to sewing and looking to buy my first machine. There is a viking dealer and from what I've read on this forum they are very well-liked machines.

Now I have to decide which to get. I would like one I can grow with and am interested in quilting, home projects and kid's clothes. I wanted to get some objective advice and not just listen to the salesperson. Of course, I fell in love with the embroidery machine , but that may have to wait ($3000!).

Any guidance is much appreciated! Thanks!

Comments (13)

• teresa_nc7
    15 years ago

I've had two Viking machines and I love them. I suggest you read up on the various models on the Viking web site to help you decide which model is right for you.

If you plan to do some quilting, you will need the ability for the machine to drop the feed teeth for free motion quilting. The "needle up/down" function is very helpful, especially for doing machine applique. You will definitely want a machine that can do a zig-zag stitch and be able to control the size of that zig-zag stitch. A machine with a few decorative embroidery stitches can allow you to make lots of nice gifts and add special touches to home dec projects.

If you plan to piece blocks for quilting, go ahead and get the special foot for piecing. It is not expensive and so helpful. The walking foot for machine quilting is expensive (probably up to $100 now), but I wouldn't be without it.

You can always "trade up" in a few years to one of the $$$$ embroidery machines like the Designer series. I would look at the Sapphire and Emerald series if those fit your budget. Be sure to ask them about classes for your machine and take advantage of them. You will learn so much more than just on your own.

If you have further questions, I'll be glad to try to help.

Teresa

Here is a link that might be useful: Husqvarna Viking web site

• stashblaster
    15 years ago